Ghostly reviews

As the nights are drawing in and with my appetite whetted with a recent ghost hunt in York I am in the mood to be scared. So I have recently been downloading some ghostly books to read before I drop off at night. The first is by a fellow blogger Anil Balan. The book is called ‘Ghosts in the Cloisters’ It consists of a series of short stories based on tales from the city of Oxford. A couple of the stories I could take or leave, but on the whole I really enjoyed it. In particular ‘Nightline’ I defy anyone to sleep well after reading it. It has enough of a psychological element to it to make you really scared. Plus I will never work for the Samaritans having read it.
The second book is by AJ Ryder ‘Book of Trinity: True story Poltergeist.’ It is a true story of a haunting in a village near where I live. I am sorry to say I am such an anorak that I think I found the house on google earth. The book, strangely did not worry me and left me with more questions. In the end, I was more convinced that the woman who experienced the poltergeist was an attention seeker than the hauntings being real. It was also very badly written.
The third book, I am still wading my way through. It is by Brian Right and is called ‘Ghosts, Apparitions and Poltergeist.’ It is about where the concepts come from. The scientific research to understand such phenomena and also a few grisly tales thrown in. I have to say I am thoroughly enjoying it and would highly recommend it to sceptics and believers alike.

~ by envisioningutopia on December 4, 2011.

5 Responses to “Ghostly reviews”

  1. […] ghostly books to read before I drop off at … … Read more from the original source: Ghostly reviews « Envisioning Utopia Share and […]

  2. Thank you for taking the time to critique Book Of Trinity. Sorry you didn’t enjoy the read, but it is not your average ghost story and therefore, not to everyone’s taste. Further to your comment concerning editing, I shall endeavour to get it professionally re-proofed for a third time and make amendments where applicable. Thank you for pointing that out.

    • Let me know if you write another, always looking for things to read. I’m about to try out Smash words Style guide to prepare a book for self publication. It’s free on Amazon and might be worth a look. Let me know how you get on and good luck!

  3. Cheers! Are you planning on publishing The Medi in paperback? Sounds an interesting concept!

Leave a Reply

 
