Oh, so you find it funny do you?

I always knew there was a difference between men and women. Not just physically, I mean, but Psychologically. It has never been so apparent as when it comes to parenting. I think that fathers must be one of the many banes of a mother’s life. There outlook is very different on parenting.

Several examples from my own experience spring to mind.

1. What is involved in actually looking after a child. I remember once on a bright sunny day in Devon, we hit the beach. What started as quite a quiet beach got busy pretty quickly. My oldest son was about four and my youngest three. At one point, the youngest one wanted to go to the toilet. ‘Keep an eye on Tom, won’t you?’ I asked my husband as I made my way up the beach to the toilets. I returned five minutes later. My husband was sitting on the rug, his head buried in a book. Tom was nowhere to be seen. ‘Where’s Tom?’ I asked, trying to keep the panic out of my voice. ‘Somewhere over there.’ said my husband, bot looking up from his book. Somewhere over there was the sea. ‘What do you mean, Somewhere over there?’ I growled, removing the book from him. He frowned, and looked to where he though Tom was. ‘Oh he’s moved.’ It’s a funny, people have a habit of doing that. It took us ten agonising minutes to locate Tom, who had got confused on his way back from filling his bucket with water. I think I threatened my husband’s life several times during this time. When we eventually found him, he had the gall to say. ‘See no harm done.’
2. Teenage drinking – A friend of mine is having problems with her teenage son, who decided to let rip on her alcohol, whilst she was out. Consequently, he was very sick. Like I would be, she was very angry at the state he got himself into and the expense she incurred, cleaning up after him. I was speaking to my husband about it, and she spoke to her partner. Both laughed.
3. School shenanigans – One morning before school, a friend of mine approached me in the playground and had a quiet word with me. She informed me that her son had told her that a small group of lads, including Tom, had been playing with matches in the school playground at break time. I was mortified. I could not believe that he had done it. To his annoyance, I pulled him to one side and started lecturing him on the dangers of fire. Then I let his teacher know and I knew he was in for a bad day. When I got home, I paced the floor, wondering where I had gone wrong. This could lead to all sorts of problems when he was older. He wouldn’t be able to rent a flat, if he was a arsonist. Perhaps this was the top of a very slippery slope. I phoned my husband, we needed to talk about this. He laughed, ‘Oh yeah, we’ve all tried to burn the school down. I think I was a bit older when I tried it.’ I don’t know about you, but I never tried to burn my school down!
4. Childhood experiences – when I was wee, I loved it when dad looked after us. He basically forgot that he was looking after us and we could do anything we liked. It was only as we heard mum’s car draw into the drive, that he would remember that we existed, and ensured that we got our stories straight before she came in.
So maybe it is good to have a different take on parenting. However, sometimes it feels as I’m the only grown up in the family!

~ by envisioningutopia on January 22, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
