The Maid

The OU Film club had a showing of The Maid, a South American Film starring Catalina Saavedra as Raquel, the maid. She has been with a family for may years and the family decide that she needs additional help. The film focuses on how she gets rid of the help. I wasn’t expecting to enjoy it, but it was, in fact, very funny, and Raquel was sufficiently complex to keep me intrigued, in what was a pretty straightforward plot. Catalina was excellent in her role and, as always, a sign of a good film for me is that I think about it afterwards. Certainly, I found myself with more questions than answers, about why she behaved in the way that she did.

~ by envisioningutopia on February 10, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
