Dominoes of Doom

Like anyone who is trying to balance a large number of things in life; work, relationship, motherhood and writing. It never ceases to amaze me how quickly things can go drastically wrong.

view from 5’2″
One minute life can seem to be ticking along as ever, and then boom, one thing after another collapses spectacularly, leaving you feeling bewildered. Needless to say, it has been one of those weeks. I can’t go into details for fear of even more shit tumbling of the tree of crap, but I can pinpoint the start of the chain of disasters to a single e mail sent to me ten days ago. This seemingly innocuous e mail has sent my world spiralling. You see, by focusing my attention on sorting it out, I took my eye off all the other parts of my life, and like the proverbial juggler, I dropped the rest of the balls. So what to do? Well I spent a while under my duvet crying and feeling ludicrously sorry for myself. Then I took a more practical approach, and went and fed my friend’s cats and rabbit. I took the rabbit a carrot, so at least someone would appreciate me. Then I sat in the car in a car park watching the dogs walking their owners. My eldest son and I tried some retail therapy and then I ate chocolate. Okay, so I actually haven’t dealt with any of the problems, but I am feeling slightly more human. So, now for some serious conversations, some carefully worded e mails and a couple of important appointments, to get all the balls back in the air and spiralling round again.

~ by envisioningutopia on February 12, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
