Tension

My body tightens, my heart races.
A vice-like grip clutches at my chest.
Through all my worries, my mind paces
Shallow desperate gasps, I lose my breath.

My list of things to do torments me.
It lurks there, haunting my every move.
In my bed, I sweat with cold anxiety
Anticipating my ineptitude.

I distract myself with the t.v
Though zombie-like, I can’t take it in
And as sleep dares to creep upon me
Cantankerous thoughts worm their way in

Just too late, I am released to rest
A shrill alarm jolts me back too soon,
So I begin my day unrefreshed
Primed to fail, the tension creeps back in.

~ by envisioningutopia on February 25, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
