So Unexpected

It was 7am on Sunday morning and I heard something I rarely hear. Tom getting up. Getting Tom up before 8am is usually impossible and involves opening the curtains and pulling off the duvet in order to get any signs of life. Intrigued, I got up. Perhaps he was ill. I wandered into his room. He wasn’t there. Noises were coming from downstairs. I raced down to see if he was being ill in the bathroom. He wasn’t there either. He was in the kitchen, eating cereal. I asked him why he was up so early. He said that as it was the last day of the holidays, he planned to make the most of every minute. I decided that, as I was up, I would go for a bike ride. I had been planning something quite strenuous, so I decided to call Tom’s bluff and asked him if he wanted to come too. He called my bluff and accepted. So off we went at 7.30. I didn’t hold out much hope for strenuous exercise and was waiting for him to complain of being tired.
It was a beautiful morning, if cold. Tom and I rode next to each other and I don’t think I’ve ever heard him talk so much. He told me all about the books he had been reading. Like me, he likes ghost stories and he was telling me a few of them, including ‘The Pit and the Pendulum’. I was shocked until I learned it was the children’s version. He told me about school and some of the games he was playing.
We passed a crow, hopping around on the grass. I love crows, they always look so sinister and remind me of Hitchcock’s’The Birds’. We negotiated our way through a field of cows. I hate cows, they always stare menacingly at me (like ‘The Fog’) AND they always stand on the path, when they have a whole field that they could use! I’d like to point out I’m not a really cruel mother, I gave Tom the option to turn home. He refused, so we continued heading up a small slope and around Caldecott Lake.
I can honestly say it was more than I ever expected. We cycled twelve miles and more importantly, I learned stuff about Tom that I never knew. What had happened was so much more valuable than a mere bike ride. It’s true you do find joy in unexpected places.

~ by envisioningutopia on April 16, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
