Don’t listen to them. Do it anyway.

It is a strange phenomenon, but one that seems to be very commom. Whenever someone decides to do something different, something out of character, something difficult, there is always someone who criticises it. For example when I decided to run a marathon, I was surprised when someone launched into a load of dissuasive comments about how dangerous it was, how I could hurt my knees. When I went to publish my book, someone kept telling how unlikely it was to happen. Whether this was out of a genuine concern for my welfare, my physical well being and to save me disappointment, I’m not sure. I have sinced asked other people if they have encountered the same thing. Sure enough, one woman told me of when she went on a diet and her mother-in-law started coming round regularly with cakes. Someone else I know took up running and was on the receiving end of all sorts of nasty comments! So it was refreshing to see on the news last night that the friend of Claire Squires (the marathon runner who died on Sunday) said that she always encouraged people to be the best that they can be. I think that is what real friends do. Rather than point out all the negatives, encourage your friend and look at how they can get round the drawbacks. Support them and help them be the best they can be. Take on the challenges and ditch those who want to hold you back. I say live life. (Mid rant my son told me his socket wasn’t working, so I’ve lost my flow now. No worries his socket is fine, my amazing detective skills have narrowed it down to a fuse!)

~ by envisioningutopia on April 25, 2012.

2 Responses to “Don’t listen to them. Do it anyway.”

  1. I experienced that myself a few years ago. I had become a fan of soccer (sorry, football!) and began taking a ball down to my local park several times a week. It was a fun way to get some much needed exercise chasing a ball around and shooting goals. I lost a lot of weight and got myself into good shape, but there were friends and family who kept trying to discourage me. I was told I was too old at 34 to exercise that hard, it would ruin my knees, my ankles, my back, etc. Some even tutted and told me I looked ill because I’d lost 20 pounds of flab I’d been carrying around since college! I think there is more than a bit of jealousy in those kind of discouraging comments.

    • Glad you persisted, I’ve found some of those negative people have now jumped on board hand have started to exercise or pursue their dreams because they saw that they couldn’t demotivate me

Leave a Reply

 
