Shed a little tear, then move on.

It’s that time of year when the pressure eases off and preparation for the next lot of students kicks in. In some ways it’s my favourite time of year. I get time to think, time to read and time to prepare. However, in some ways it is horrible. Students are sitting their exams, which decide where they go next. You find yourself sitting anxiously outside the exam hall, hoping that all is well. Today was one of those days. Despite it being my day off, I couldn’t stay away. I was there to wish them luck and sitting outside at the end, armed with chocolate. To be honest, as a group, we have been through a lot. The first year of Philosophy is notoriously difficult and these students are my ‘Die Hard’ group. I have loved arguing with them. I have loved watching them gain in confidence and argumentativeness in the last two years. They told me in our last lesson that they have changed in the way they think about the world. They were laughing about how they took the Law tutor to task about a throw away comment he had made about something being right.
‘You don’t see things as straightforward anymore.’ One commented.
To be honest, this is true. Philosophy takes you to places you’ve never been to before and makes you question the essence of your beliefs. The other day someone was speaking about the film ‘Mission Impossible’ I asked
‘Did he achieve his mission?’
‘Yes of course.’
‘Then logically it wasn’t impossible, was it?’
Yes Philosophers are very tedious if you want a quick conversation, but having said that I am really going to miss them!

~ by envisioningutopia on June 21, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
