A moment to cherish

It was the second last night at Limeuil and so I decided to go for a walk. I left the campsite and clambered down to the beach beside the Dordogne. It was beginning to get dark and there were a couple of families sitting on the beach around small campfires telling each other stories. I crunched past them and headed up river to where the Vezere and Dordogne meet and sat down opposite the small village of Limeuil. I’m so glad I did. As the gloom gathered, the lights of the village flickered on and their reflections danced in the fast flowing water. I could hear laughter from the bar on the opposite bank. There is a spooky looking dark tower right at the top of Limeuil and I strained my eyes to see if there was a ghostly figure in the window at the top. Alas there wasn’t. Occasionally a car would pass over the bridges; the only evidence, a pair of headlights sweeping spookily along. As it gradually got darker, I felt a sense of how small we all are. I thought of how many people from past times had sat, like me, by the river’s edge and watched it flow past. I wondered about all the dramas that the river had witnessed. It did not help when I looked up at the sky above. It was completely clear and was crowded with stars. Bats flitted back and forth over the river. It was one of those rare moments in life where you feel completely at peace. I would have quite happily sat there all night. Unfortunately though real life called and I stumbled my way back in the dark.

~ by envisioningutopia on August 23, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
