Books, Books, Books : I love the summer!

‘Risk of Darkness – Susan Hill
Okay having not liked ‘Pure in Heart’, for some inexplicable reason I read the next one, ‘Risk of Darkness’. It was probably slightly better, though not much. Again Simon’s lover made a brief and annoying reappearance. He fell madly in love with a vicar, whom he had met once!. There was some attempt at detection though he still drinks a lot of tea and really doesn’t earn his salary. It was also irritating that they caught the murderer really early on and a lot of side stories such as the murderer’s mother’s reaction didn’t really go any where. Overall I would stay clear of these books.

The Way of Wyrd – Brian Bates
As a fantasy writer I thought I’d read some fantasy. Apparently this book would appeal to me both spiritually and psychologically. Not! It was okay (though I could only bring myself to read half of it as it didn’t really go any where) It was abut a Christian scribe going to find out about Paganism from a sorcerer. That’s it really. They collect some plants and talk about God and well….. It reminded me of the Celestine Prophecy a bit, but not as exciting, which says something because I hated the Celestine Prophecy!

The Troubled Man – Henning Mankell
I have never watched Wallander. This is one of the books on which the series is based. Although the outcome and clues are pretty obvious, it was a very compelling and interesting story. The characters were credible and there was enough going on to keep me hooked. It is about a Naval commander who goes missing. Then his wife goes missing. As Wallander digs into their idyllic world, he discovers that all is not what it seems. Also I really got angry at Wallander’s ex wife. She was well-portrayed, as was his daughter. You really got a sense of Wallander undertaking an emotional journey. I’m definitely going to read more of these.

‘Cross Bones’ Kathy Reichs
I didn’t know it when I picked it up from the library, but I think this book is the basis for the American series ‘Bones’. I enjoyed it, especially the relationship between Ryan and Tempe. However, as someone who has some knowledge of Pathology and Forensics, even I found it a bit heavy going on the technical side. Also the book was centred around an archaeological dig and whether some bones belonged to Jesus or not. To be honest, it got very confusing and I didn’t think that in reality the US police department should be sending 2 of its finest to Jerusalem to look into it. The book literally lost the plot at times, though I certainly would read more of her books as they were complex enough to hold my interest.

‘Interview with a vampire’ Anne Rice
I watched the film a few years ago, but couldn’t remember anything about it. Similarly, with the book, I found half way through that I had to abandon it because I found nothing really happens. It never ceases to amaze me with books about vampires, that given eternal life they don’t really do anything with it. Edward Cullen and his clan in ‘Twilight’ spend most of the time going back to high school! Surely vampires can come up with something slightly more exciting!

~ by envisioningutopia on August 26, 2012.

3 Responses to “Books, Books, Books : I love the summer!”

  1. I thought Interview With The Vampire was pretty boring, but I loved the rest of Anne Rice’s vampire novels.

Leave a Reply

 
