Winter -at last!

After, what seems a lifetime of rain and flooding, I went for my run at 6am only to be greeted by a blast of freezing cold air. The ground was sparkling with frost and as I took a deep breath of icy air, it felt as though my lungs had been to the cleaners. It was beautiful. The fields, which were flooded last week, are now lakes. They reflected the orange glow of the dawn and a mist swirled down the River Ouzel. As I pounded my way along, I could see that I wasn’t the only one appreciating such a great start to the day. A crow was hopping along, going about his business. When I reached the canal, it was covered with ice and the smell of wood fires from the canal boats drifted towards me. It was one of those mornings when it is great to be alive.

~ by envisioningutopia on December 2, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
