Do Not Sleep. Do Not Dream Part 2

‘Bang, Bang, Bang’ ‘Bang, Bang, Bang’
My arms are`waving, my legs kicking. I am screaming at the top of my voice. I am awake. I will stay awake. Noise is good. The crash startles me. My heart races. Thank God! The two policemen standing in the doorway do not look pleased. My neighbour looms behind them. His face like thunder. ‘I cannot stop. I must not stop.’ I yell. Then silence, as a policeman strides across the room and yanks the plug out of the socket. I continue my maniacal dance.
‘The bloke’s gone mental.’ Accuses my neighbour. I cannot hear what the police are saying, as my next line of defence kicks in and I begin to sing. And then it hits me. I fI am knocked unconscious, I will get my relief without a dream. I look at my tatooed, muscled neighbour, then hurl myself towards him, fists flying at his face. He throws his hands up in defence, as my fist glances his cheek, but he doesn’t retaliate.
‘Hit me!’ I yell. ‘Knock me out.’
But now I am wrestled to the dangerous floor, where sleep is too close for comfort. I struggle to lift my head from the carpeted pillow, but it is forced back down.
‘No!’
To my relief I am hauled to my feet. My hands are cuffed behind my back. They feel uncomfortable on my wrists. I rejoice. I cannot sleep if I amin discomfort. One of the policemen is talking to me, but I cannot process what he is saying. It doesn’t matter, I am on my feet and in pain. That’s all I need for now.

~ by envisioningutopia on January 10, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
