Cat Share – the purrfect solution?

Two years ago, I was asked to look after my friend’s three cats, whilst she went on holiday. By the end of the 2 weeks, there were nine! Six cute kittens entered the world. Unfortunately my friend then had to find homes for them. I asked a neighbour if she would be interested, as her cat had recently died, at the ripe old age of 20! I knew she was sorely tempted, but as an asthma sufferer, she decided that she better give up on the cat owning front, so we ended up with a small tabby called Megatron! I have to clarify that I did not name her, and I do not call her that. So our zoo now consisted of 2 cats, 2 gerbils, a rabbit and 2 fish!
A few months later, Andrew was putting his bike away, when the aforementioned neighbour mentioned that Meg had been coming into her house. Andrew apologised and told her to chuck her back out. It was only we went round to see our neighbour a few weeks ago that we realised what was happening. She told us that Meg loved to sit on her window sill. She then told us how Meg instinctively knew where the cat treats were. (I wanted to ask why someone who didn’t own a cat, had cat treats. ) In short, our neighbour had adopted Meg. ‘After all,’ she added ‘she was the one that I would have taken if I didn’t have asthma. It’s lovely to have her around.’
Some people are shocked when I tell them about this. However, I think it’s great. Someone, who would love a cat, but can’t commit to having one, has one, when she wants cuddles and company. The cat can escape from the bedlam of our house and she is always around for the boys to play with. Everyone is a winner! (though I still pick up the vet bills!)

~ by envisioningutopia on February 20, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
