Tomorrow, I shall wear orange.

When I got home from work last night, I decided to show my husband, rather than tell my husband about my day. As I drew the bottle of pear cider and enormous bar of chocolate out of a carrier bag, all he could say was ‘That bad eh?’ I nodded as I sat down to comfort myself. What was worse was I spent most of the night reliving it in my head. So waking up this morning, I felt far from refreshed. It was not going to be a good day. I had to do a lot of marking, which meant, no writing. I also had an appointment with the dreaded optician. Having spent the morning running, marking and editing, I headed out a bit early to buy the boys some shorts. Yes, summer has finally come. Alex is wearing some at the moment that are far too small. Although, he thinks he looks good (bulging in all the wrong places) I think he is too like Freddy Mercury for my liking. Having bought some of a more appropriate size, I saw it. It leapt out at me across the shop. An orange skirt. Anyone who vaguely knows me, knows I love orange. I love it, I love it, I love it! So putting austerity measures, recessions and all the other jargon, I don’t understand aside, I was naughty and bought it. Feeling incredibly guilty, I then went to the optician.
‘It’s the lovely Mrs Brasher’ he cried as I walked in. Which would have been not so uncomfortable, had he not been young enough to be my son. I said good morning and he quipped at the fact I had not disputed that I was lovely. It was then that I decided.
‘Yes I am lovely.’ Who cares about work and buying extravagant orange skirts. All the staff were really up beat. The good news? I don’t need new glasses. Then it was off to the supermarket. Having paid for my items, I was gliding out the shop (that’s how lovely people move) when I saw an old man standing shame-faced next to a broken bottle of salad cream. ‘Poor bloke’ I thought, as I watched my 4 pint semi skimmed milk jettison out of the trolley towards him. So now I was the laughing stock of the supermarket.
‘You’re just like him you are’ joked a customer. I didn’t think so, I have all my teeth. However, the plus side was that the old man felt better and had a good laugh at my expense. I also was given another bottle of milk! Apologising for my existence, I left the store. But whatever the rest of the day may bring, I know, that tomorrow I shall wear orange.

~ by envisioningutopia on April 25, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
