Wrong ingredients? Who cares!

It is a while since I last blogged, as life has got in the way. However, at last Christmas has come and I have had a chance to stop. Yes, I am one of the few people who has stopped this Christmas! I took delight in getting my shopping done early and I decided that I was not going to strive for the perfect Christmas. The result….. a perfect Christmas! We stayed at home this year and no, we didn’t have the whole family round. No offence, but I wanted to stay in my pyjamas, drink wine and eat cheese on toast if I wanted to. We all put our favourite dish on the menu, got up at about 10am and rolled downstairs. Turkey was ditched in favour of duck. The boys wanted to try plum sauce. Did I have a trial run, to ensure that it was perfect for Christmas day. Did I heck! I had the wrong plums, the wrong sugar, the wrong stock, even the wrong onions. I popped it all in a pot and it tasted great. Did I moan about peeling potatoes on Christmas Day. Nope! I peeled to Classic FM carols and sang along heartily. My eldest refused to get out of his pyjamas. No problem. My mother-in-law wanted to go for a walk. Great. The neighbours wanted to sing us carols. Fantastic (we joined in) We had had quite a bit to drink by then. So…..? Strive for the Christmas you want. I highly recommend it and what is best of all. It is entirely stress free.

~ by envisioningutopia on December 27, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
