Just call me wonderful!

A full and busy day at work and in the back of my mind I knew that it was not going to be a relaxing evening at home. Partly because it was a Monday and Monday, like Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday, does not stop. However, it was to be further complicated. As I am about to head home, my overwhelming sense of doom is confirmed. My youngest phones to say one of the cats is injured. I can almost see the pound signs flashing in the vet’s eyes as I write. Yes it’s that time of year where all the cats in our neighbourhood (and believe me when I say there are a lot of cats in our neighbourhood) go into fight mode, costing cat owners everywhere a fortune. With a heavy heart and a potentially very light purse I make my way home. The cat has hurt its paw, but it doesn’t seem too bad. I’m wondering if it’s putting it on, but deep down I know this is just wishful thinking. A trip to the vet’s is inevitable. So that’s it, my sense of doom can leave (but it doesn’t). There is a wail from upstairs. Is it yet another one of our ludicrous menagerie in pain. No, it’s my youngest. He has tried on his new air cadet uniform. This is the air cadet uniform where we painstakingly took loads of measurements, so he would get the right size and by the looks of it they totally ignored the measurements we took. To say the uniform is a little on the large size is an understatement. The waist is twice the circumference of his waist and the legs are twice as long as his legs. What’s more, he wants me to magic it to the right size in the half hour we have before he goes out. I have to add needlework is not my strong point. So out the needle and (not quite the right colour) thread come. My youngest is about to protest, when he catches my eye. I may also have slightly growled. I somehow manage to cobble together a uniform that will now fit. (whilst cooking the tea I may add). So that was my relaxing time at home before heading out as the evening taxi service to various clubs and activities that the kids have signed up for. As for the impending sense of doom….let’s wait for the vet bill!

~ by envisioningutopia on May 4, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
